For adverts Placement only email: [email protected]

Wednesday, 06 December 2023 05:52

Super Falcons Pick 2024 AWCON Ticket In Style

Nine-time African champions, the Super Falcons have qualified for the 2024 Africa Women Cup of Nations 7-1 on aggregate after a hard fought 2-1 victory over Cape Verde in the return leg of the final round qualifying fixture played yesterday in Praia, Cape Verde.

After a 5-0 whitewash of Cape Verde in the first leg of the 2024 Women Africa Cup of Nations final round qualifying fixture last Thursday in Abuja, the Super had to fight back from a goal down to snatch victory from their opponents who needed to score six goals without conceding any to stand a chance of qualifying for the next AWCON.

Uchenna Kanu, with a first-half brace, and substitute Esther Okoronkwo, with a second-half brace, in the first leg had swept the nine-time African champions into a comfortable lead going into the return leg.

However, in yesterday contest, the more endowed Super Falcons suffered an early set back as the host went in front as early as the 8th minute of the match when Ivania Moreia put her team ahead with the opening goal of the match.



The Super Falcons sought for an instant response but the host stood firm to ensure that they went into the break with the slim advantage.


On resumption, the Super falcons continued to pile pressure and would have been on level terms with their host had the referee not ruled out Esther Okoronkwo’ 55th goal for offside.





But the substitute drew Nigeria level with a solo finish in the 62nd minute which literally took the tie out of the reach of Cape Verde.

To ensure they qualified for the 2024 AWCON in style, the Super Falcons refused to take their feet off the pedal and were rewarded with the winning goal in the third minute of second half added time.

Athletico Madrid forward Rasheedat Ajibade scored the winning goal for the Super Falcons to qualify for the 2024 AWCON in style.


The most successful team in the Africa Women Cup of Nation, the Super Falcons have been to every edition of the tournament beginning from 1991 when Nigeria hosted the inaugural edition.

The Super Falcons last won the AWCON in 2018 in Ghana.


482 times

Join us on Whatsapp Channel Subscribe to Telegram Channel