For adverts Placement only email: [email protected]

Tuesday, 28 November 2023 04:20

Oshoala, Nnadozie, Waldrum in final shortlist of CAF awards

Super Falcons’ striker, Asisat Oshoala, Goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, and Coach, Randy Waldrum, are among contenders in the Confederation of African Football’s (CAF) final shortlist for the 2023 Awards.

Also in the shortlist are the duo of Esther Ajakaye and Deborah Abiodun, who are in contention for the Young Player of the Year award.

Oshoala will battle with Nnadozie, Zambia’s Barbara Babanda, and South Africa’s trio of Andile Dlamini, Hilda Magaia and Thembi Kgatlana for the Player of the Year Award.


Others in that category are Cameroon’s Ajara Njoya and Anissa Lahmari, Fatima Tagnaout, and Ghizalaine Chebbak, all of Morocco.

Nnadozie is also listed for the Goalkeeper of the Year Award, in which she would contend with the Moroccan duo of Imane Abdelahad and Khadija Er-Rmichi and South Africa’s Andile Dlamini and Kaylin Swart.

Ajakaye and Abiodun will face Ghana’s Comfort Yeboah, Morocco’s Nesryne El Chad and South Africa’s Thubelihle Shamase in the Young Player of the Year award.

Coach Waldrum, who took Nigeria to the second round of the New Zealand/Australia 2023 Women’s World Cup, is pitted against Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca),  Reynald Pedros (Morocco), Desiree Ellis (South Africa) and Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns) for the Coach of the Year award.

Nigeria is listed in the National Team of the Year Award alongside Morocco, Senegal, South Africa, and Zambia.

CAF said in a statement that the winners of each category would be determined after the votes of a panel comprising members of its technical commission, media professionals from member associations, head coaches and captains of member associations, including clubs involved in the group stages of interclub competitions.

The awards ceremony will hold on December 11, 2023, at the Palais des Congres Movenpickin Morocco.


493 times

Join us on Whatsapp Channel Subscribe to Telegram Channel