For adverts Placement only email: [email protected]

Saturday, 01 April 2023 06:44

Kwara APC Suspends Ex-Senator, Gov’s Aide, Others over Anti-party Activities

All Progressives Congress(APC) in Kwara State has suspended a former Senator representing Kwara South senatorial district, Senator Suleiman Makanjuola Ajadi, Special Assistant on Youths  Matters to Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, Mr. Rasaq Apaguntan and 10 others  from the ruling APC for alleged anti-party activities during the last general elections.

But in a swift reaction, Senator Ajadi described the suspension by the group as a huge joke taken too far.

Speaking at a news conference in Ilorin yesterday, the Assistant Secretary,  APC  Share Ward 5 in Ifelodun LGA, Mr. Issa Yunusa said that “the decision to suspend Senator Ajadi for alleged anti-party activities was reached at an enlarged meeting of the APC in Adio in Ifelodun LGA that involved ward executives, stakeholders and youths in the local government.”

He said that the former Senator allegedly directed all his supporters to vote against the APC House of Assembly candidate for Share/Oke-Ode state constituency, Hon. Rasaq Owolabi during the governorship and state House of Assembly elections.”

Yunusa added that, “To achieve his diabolical desire, a few days to the elections, Senator Ajadi mobilised the opposition parties, PDP, SDP, ADC, Accord Party and NNPP during a meeting at Babalomo and directed them to vote for Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq in the governorship election but to vote for the PDP candidate in the House of Assembly elections and this manifested in the results recorded during the two elections in the state.”

Yunusa however said that,”Based on the overwhelming evidence of Senator Ajadi’s compromise of the party’s constitution, we therefore suspend him indefinitely from the party forthwith.”

Also yesterday, leaders of the APC in Share ward 1 and 2 in Ifelodun LGA suspended another five leaders of the party for alleged anti-party activities.

Addressing a news conference in Ilorin yesterday, the Spokesperson of the APC in the two affected wards, Mr. Yusuf Kolawole said that, “After an exhaustive    deliberations and review of the results of the Presidential and National Assembly elections held on February 25, 2023 and the Governorship and House of Assembly Elections of March 18, 2023, by the ward executive members, party elders and critical stakeholders, the meeting passed a Vote of No Confidence on the following individuals for their anti-party activities and gross indiscipline, which had resulted in the loss of APC candidate in Share Wards One (I) and Two (II) in the Governorship and House of Assembly election. 

“They are, Chief M. T Lawal, Mr. Samuel Fasobu Jimoh, Hon. Apaguntan Rasaq (S.A Youths to the Governor), Alhaja Barakat Atunshe – Board Member CAILS and Mr.  Rasheed Shuaib.

“Our great party, the APC thrives on absolute loyalty, faithfulness and discipline.

“Therefore, the party has found these individuals as unworthy APC members and agents of darkness, hence their indefinite suspension from the party today, Friday, March 31, 2023.”   

909 times

Join us on Whatsapp Subscribe to Telegram